About Us - St. John's Academy
Close this search box.

About Us

Saint John’s Academy is a PreK3 – grade 8 Catholic school located in the family-oriented town of Hillsdale, NJ in Bergen County.

With accreditations and achievements such as a National Blue Ribbon Award and a highly-regarded Middle States Accreditation, families from over 40 zip codes choose SJA for a blend of academics, faith and service that is truly unique — what we call The SJA Difference.

2020 marks our 65th anniversary as we continue to build on our rich history. Led by our principal and an amazing and dedicated faculty & staff, we are committed every day to carrying out our mission to enrich young minds and souls with the knowledge and character that will shape their entire lives.

Governance Model

The governance model for schools within the Archdiocese of Newark is a close partnership between the Pastor (Msgr. Peter Smutelovic); the Principal; the School Advisory Board; and Archdiocesan Catholic Education Services (ACES).

School Advisory Board

The role of the Advisory Board is to advise and consult with the Principal and Pastor in key functional areas, such as Finance & Budgeting, Marketing & Recruitment, Facilities Planning, Fundraising & Alumni Relations, and Strategic Planning. The Board is responsible for approving the annual operating budget for the school prior to submission to the archdiocese.

Members of the Advisory Board are made up of current and former parents, active parishioners, local officials, and its monthly board meetings are also attended by the Principal, the Pastor, and the President of the PTG, on an ex-officio non-voting basis. Board members serve a three-year-term and their appointment is confirmed by the Archbishop.

Current Members of the School Advisory Board for the 2022/23 School Year:

  • Robert Truszkowski, President
  • Lisa Trottere, Vice President
  • Steven Segalas
  • Greg Cox
  • Annette Gallagher
  • Melissa Mendes
  • Carol DeJoseph
  • Rich Myslinski
  • John Morgan
  • Brian Hehir
  • Msgr. Peter Smutelovic (Pastor) *
  • Ann Mitchell (Principal) *
  • Megan Callea (PTG President) *
  • Deirdre Danaher (Recording Secretary) *

* Ex-Officio / non-voting

Scroll to Top